Kenya Running Trip: Week #12!

Posted: March 22, 2015 in Robert Brouillette

     

December 30th to March 26th 2015, I will be living in Iten, Kenya for my high altitude training running hitting up to 190K, enjoying the Kenyan culture lifestyle, eating delicious fresh healthy home-made meals, and visiting around Rift Valley to discover new things. I’m super excited to see what I can make out of this 13 week journey as I prepare for Hamilton’s Around The Bay 5K and then Toronto’s Yonge Street 10K road races this spring back home in Canada! 🙂

March 16th – March 22nd, 2015

This week in high altitude Kenya running training I hit around 115K for the 3rd week in a row as I now taper down for my Canada 2015 debut road race in just 1 week on Sunday March 29, 2015 at Hamilton’s Around the Bay (Bay and Back) 5K. Now to sum up the week, Monday I took the entire day off from running to recover from my Sunday 24K long run with 10K hard last week which I got both a 5K and 10K PB in going down the street in the Rift Valley. When I woke up I could barely get out of bed let alone walking was a huge challenge. I had Silas give me both a deep and light massage to help loosen my tight legs up plus used my Tiger Tail roller too. Tuesday was just a 1 hour recovery run on the Mo Farah trail loop to release all that packed up lactic acid but I may have had a bit of damaged muscles going on so I did a longer than usual stretch which felt good.

Wednesday was a moderate 19K in 1:21 which I sat just behind the lead pack for the first half and then eased down last half as their pace spiked too high for me. Legs were still feeling the effects of the LR from 3 days ago. Thursday was a road trip with Johana to Eldoret to run on the University Chepkolil track which is still made of dirt but in better shape than the Iten Kamariny track. We both had different workouts so he did a mix of 600M & 1K repeats while I had a session of 800 meters x10 with 200 meters active recovery of half walking and last half a jog. As always I did 100 meters strides x 7 to start and finish the workout. I ran my workout solo into the strong wind on a hot morning which made for a difficult time hitting the goal pace I had planned. In the evening on my 50 minute easy run I made a pit stop at Sheila’s house to visit with her girlfriends and have tea with bread slices before I hit the trail to finish up. Friday was a steady 18.7K in 1:22 versus going progressive with the lead pack while I later found out they ran their fastest time since I’ve been here in 1:10, over 10 minutes faster than me anyways so I’m glad I didn’t go with them or I would have blown up.

Saturday morning I went for an easy 45 minutes before heading to the track in the late evening for diagonal intervals on the grass field solo in the hot sun with children watching me carefully from afar hiding in the bushes. The workout was simply easy on the short end zones and a hard sprint across the soccer field diagonally and repeating that for 30 minutes hitting an all-time high pace of 2:30/k for that 120 meter hard part. Sunday I followed along with the Kenyan tradition minus going to church but still resting the entire day away doing absolutely nothing. Nothing in non-running news to report so I’ll just leave it at that with just 1 more week left and everything coming to an end with a new journey to start back home in good old Ontario, Canada.

Running Training

Monday
Off for rest day

Tuesday
AM = 11.3K/ 59:02/ recovery
Total: 11.3K in 59 minutes

Wednesday: https://www.strava.com/activities/270003800
AM = 19K/ 1:21:10/ moderate
PM = 11.3K/ 53:12/ easy
Total: 30.3K in 2 hours 14 minutes

Thursday: https://www.strava.com/activities/270628755
AM = 13.3K/ 1:00:26/ 100M x7 + track 800M x10 [200M AR] + 100M x7
track 810-830M (2:40, 2:43, 2:48, 2:51, 2:50, 2:50, 2:52, 2:54, 2:56, 2:51)
3.8K/ 22:44/ warm up
PM = 10.3K/ 48:10/ easy
Total: 27.4K in 2 hours 11 minutes

Friday: https://www.strava.com/activities/271080252
AM = 18.7K/ 1:22:17/ moderate
Total: 18.7K in 1 hour 22 minutes

Saturday: https://www.strava.com/activities/271727959
AM = 10.2K| 45:32| 4:27/k| easy
PM = 7.8K| 30:21| 3:52/k| track field diagonal intervals x 30 minutes
5.1K| 25:05| 4:53/k| warm up & 2.8K| 13:33| 4:46/k| cool down
Total: 26K in 1 hour 54 minutes

Sunday
Off for rest day

Week’s Distance & Time: 113.8K in 8 hours 41 minutes!

You can find a complete list of all my GPS detailed runs from Canada and Kenya on my STRAVA profile here:
http://www.strava.com/athletes/4446950

                 

Shout out to Noel Paine, a writer at Canada Running magazine, on a great blog of the Canada and Kenya running connection using words from us Canadian’s who have trained or worked in Kenya this year or in the past. You can find the piece he wrote here:
http://www.noelpaine.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/the-canadian-kenyan-running-connection

Thank you for reading my Kenya adventures, keep on running, and I’ll be back with another update next week. Until then I’ll be posting daily at http://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life & http://www.twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life.

#BeSuperior #RoadToTYS10K #MzunguPower #CantWontStop #ENDURrob #TrainHardWinEasy #MenAtWork #CanadianMzungu #YoungWildFree #KenyanWay #MakeExcellentHappen #ItsPossible #Runday #RunForLife #1Sport1Love #LongMayWeRun #HeavyInTheGame #RiseAndGrind #TheShoeMustGoOn #ItsPossible #ThisIsMyDay

Robert Brouillette 😀

Leave a Reply

