Kenya Running Trip: Week #11!

Posted: March 16, 2015 in Robert Brouillette

   

December 30th to March 26th 2015, I will be living in Iten, Kenya for my high altitude training running hitting up to 190K, enjoying the Kenyan culture lifestyle, eating delicious fresh healthy home-made meals, and visiting around Rift Valley to discover new things. I’m super excited to see what I can make out of this 13 week journey as I prepare for Hamilton’s Around The Bay 5K and then Toronto’s Yonge Street 10K road races this spring back home in Canada! 🙂

March 9th – March 15th, 2015

This week in Kenya high altitude running training I had a lower volume mileage since I started the week off getting over being sick, ran mostly one workout per day, and took a rest day. I’m now nearing the end of my trip and my big 2015 Canadian debut race back home is now just 2 weekends away at Hamilton’s Around the Bay (Bay and Back) 5K to kick things off. Following that race up with two Canada Running Series races which are Toronto’s Spring Run-Off 8K on April 4th and Toronto’s Yonge Street 10K on April 19th which is also my little sisters birthday. I’m a Digital Champion from the TYS10K so I’m hoping to do very well there as this will be my 4th year in a row there and I’m excited to meet all sorts of friends there. Back to my sister to quickly mention something that’s not running related is that by July I will be Uncle Runner Rob as she is having a baby boy with her boyfriend with everyone happy and healthy.

Back to the running, On Monday I was still a little under the weather and recovering from a hectic weekend in Nairobi where I was supposed to race but didn’t due to many complications. So I rested in the morning and went easy in the evening on Mo Farah’s 7-mile loop that he took me on last year which I did alone this time in 58 minutes with 8 hill sprints of 100 meters to finish off. Tuesday I did a solo track pyramid of 1K/ 800M/ 600M/ 400M/ 200M, then back up with 200 meters between these reps, 400 meters between the two sets, and as always 100M strides x4 to start as well as finish the workout. The track is not perfect as usual so the sets ranged from 10 to 30 meters long and I was just finishing up being sick for the last time I swear but I still managed to keep myself together and get a solid effort in regardless.

Wednesday was simply another 7-miler easy in the evening but this time mixing things up and taking Mo Farah’s trail loop backwards which I found to be a little quicker. Thursday was one of my biggest workouts this year in Kenya for a fartlek session of (1:4, 1:3, 1:2, 1:1, 1:1, 1:2, 1:3, 1:4) x2 with 2 minutes easy after the first complete set. So what these numbers mean is a ratio of easy to hard continuously for 57 minutes in a pyramid format because the workout starts with a 4 minute hard which works down to 1 minute hard and then back up to complete a full set. There was about 50 Kenyans and 6 of us white dudes to begin. I started out maybe a little too quick as normal and faded as the session progressed but still keeping an honest effort throughout it as I ran most of it alone chasing down the very fast group ahead. By the end my lower back was so sore that I made a short cool down, stretched all my muscles out, and headed home for my favorite boiled sweet potatoes and chai tea for breakfast. Friday is the same as always going an easy to moderate progression on a 18.5K trail loop with a net uphill last couple kilometers finish in sub 1:20.

Saturday was a complete rest day for the big workout ahead tomorrow so I literally did no running, not much walking, and sat around watching cool movies all day. Sunday was a solo early morning long run of 24K in 1:40 but what made this workout special was that I had a 10K hard effort inside where I hit 5K in 15:55 and 10K in 33:16 according to my Garmin GPS watch for two new unofficial PB’s in training. This was done on the very fast net downhill road in the Rift Valley and after halfway into the long run I turned around a came back up going easy. My calves were aching I’m sure from so much downhill/ uphill actions plus I very rarely run on tarmac for the almost 3 months I’ve trained here on soft trails day after day.

In non-running news, I slipped on a banana in town in front of everyone which I bet was pretty funny but I thought that only happens in movies and video games, oh well. I visited the beautiful Kerio View Resort for a delicious lunch in the restaurant over the view of the Rift Valley on a nice sunny calm day. My main dish was chicken in wine masala with dessert being the irresistible pancake mikado (vanilla ice cream wrapped in crepes covered in chocolate sauce). It was nice to enjoy it with other runners from Canada who were in Iten enjoying their days leading up to the Rift Valley Marathon (Half-marathon and relay 10K too) that happened Saturday morning in Mosoriot.

After that successful long run that beat my legs up bad I was fortunate to have Silas give me an hour deep massage which gave me more pain but the good kind that will hopefully soon make my legs feel alive again. When I woke up the following morning I couldn’t even walk and that’s not an exaggeration, my legs are still packed rock solid with lactic acid it seems so recovering from this is going to take longer then I thought. But on the plus side I did finally meet Geoffrey Mutai who is famous in the running world for being a Kenyan marathoner running the fastest time at Boston Marathon, 2nd place at last years at Berlin Marathon which got him the 2nd fastest marathon time ever, among other top world-class races which makes him kind of a big deal.

Running Training

Monday: https://www.strava.com/activities/265546766
PM = 12.6K/ 58:06/ easy + 100M hill sprints x6
Total: 12.6K in 58 minutes

Tuesday: https://www.strava.com/activities/265801139
AM = 10K/ 41:56/ track + 100M strides x8
track = 1.03K, 800M, 610M, 410M, 200M, 200M, 400M, 610M, 820M, 1.01K
(3:17/ 2:39/ 2:00/ 1:16/ 0:35) [430M AR] (0:35/ 1:17/ 2:02/ 2:45/ 3:31) [210M AR]
4.1K/ 23:35/ warm up & 4K/ 24:20/ cool down
PM = 7.1K/ 42:05/ very easy
Total: 25.3K in 2 hours 11 minutes

Wednesday: https://www.strava.com/activities/266511923
PM = 11.3K/ 50:00/ easy
Total: 11.3K in 50 minutes

Thursday: https://www.strava.com/activities/266945075
AM = 13.5K/ 57:00/ fartlek pyramid (easy: hard)
fartlek = (1:4, 1:3, 1:2, 1:1, 1:1, 1:2, 1:3, 1:4) x2 [2 min. easy after the set]
6.2K/ 30:04/ warm up & 1.2K/ 7:13/ cool down
Total: 21K in 1 hour 34 minutes

Friday: https://www.strava.com/activities/267370639
AM = 18.7K/ 1:21:26/ moderate
Total: 18.7K in 1 hour 21 minutes

Saturday
Off for a rest day

Sunday: https://www.strava.com/activities/268367194
AM = 24K/ 1:40:56/ long run on street down & up Rift Valley
(2K moderate + 10K hard + 12K easy) with 5K/ 15:55 & 10K/ 33:16 PB’s in training
Total: 24K in 1 hour 40 minutes

Week’s Distance & Time: 112.8K in 8 hours 36 minutes!

You can find a complete list of all my GPS detailed runs from Canada and Kenya on my STRAVA profile here:
http://www.strava.com/athletes/4446950

                 

Thank you for reading my Kenya adventures, keep on running, and I’ll be back with another update next week. Until then I’ll be posting daily at http://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life & http://www.twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life.

#BeSuperior #RoadToTYS10K #MzunguPower #CantWontStop #ENDURrob #TrainHardWinEasy #MenAtWork #CanadianMzungu #YoungWildFree #KenyanWay #MakeExcellentHappen #ItsPossible #Runday #RunForLife #1Sport1Love #LongMayWeRun #HeavyInTheGame #RiseAndGrind #TheShoeMustGoOn #ItsPossible #ThisIsMyDay

Robert Brouillette 😀

Leave a Reply

