Kenya Running Trip: Week #10!

Posted: March 9, 2015 in Robert Brouillette

   

December 30th to March 26th 2015, I will be living in Iten, Kenya for my high altitude training running hitting up to 190K, enjoying the Kenyan culture lifestyle, eating delicious fresh healthy home-made meals, and visiting around Rift Valley to discover new things. I’m super excited to see what I can make out of this 13 week journey as I prepare for Hamilton’s Around The Bay 5K and then Toronto’s Yonge Street 10K road races this spring back home in Canada! 🙂

March 2nd – March 8th, 2015

This week in Kenya high altitude running training, I had one of my lowest mileage weeks due to me tapering for a race, finally taking a rest day, and then having the 10K event on Sunday. Monday was 120 meter hill sprints up with active recovery back down for 17 sets with Silas. For some reason my ears kept getting blocked and then popping the entire time which was annoying but probably from the repetitive fast elevation changes. Tuesday I went to the dirt track with Silas to do 400 meters (410 meters with the track being long) for as many sets as I felt was necessary based on my performance. Silas paced only the first 2 reps in 1:10 before his recovery became to slow for me so I went ahead on my own for the rest. I hit the 1 lap reps between 1:12-1:17 and ended up doing 12 of them in the hot mid-afternoon suns heat. It turns out Silas ended up doing 1:10-1:13 x10 I think he told me off his 200 meters of walking which I should have just done with him instead of doing active recovery the first half of workout and just walking the last half on the rest period. In the evening I celebrated my 1 year anniversary of meeting and running with Britain’s track Olympian, Mo Farah, by running his 7-mile trail loop even though he wasn’t here this year to do it with me.

Wednesday is usually an easy to moderate progressive run with the group of about 50 but I decided to just take it easy and enjoy the run by doing the 19K in 1:38 instead of the usual 1:15-ish. Thursday instead of doing the group fartlek, Johana and I went to the track to do diagonals on the grass inside the track for 30 minutes by going hard on the crossover and easy on the straight away end zones to repeat that till the time was up. I had a 1 hour light massage from Silas in the evening to make sure the body was ready for the race weekend. Friday being 2 days before the race was 12.8K in 1:02 easy with 100 meter strides x8 to get some zip in the legs. Saturday was my first rest day from running in a while to make sure I was completely rested for the race tomorrow.

Sunday was supposed to be my big race day at Nairobi First Lady’s 10K but due to some complications. On Saturday my 6 hour ride to Nairobi left in the late afternoon so we didn’t get there till very later so all the restaurants were closed forcing us to have supper at a fast food place of the worst thing possible before a race, chicken and fries. I did see some wild animals on the drive like zebras, gazelles, and baboons with us hitting an elevation of 2727 which is one of the highest places in Kenya. I wasn’t surprised to wake up in the morning off little sleep with an upset stomach from all that greasy food last night. When I got to the event there was nowhere for me to get my race kit package since they stopped giving them out the day before even though I was coming from out-of-town and pre-registered online. Then the races start times were off and the place was so chaotic with 20,000 participants running around between the half-marathon, 10K, and 2K.

After running around myself trying to figure things out I ended up missing the start to my 10K so running without an official bib I started alone behind the crowd of walkers and slow joggers. I think I ran hard for 500 meters before calling it quits on a race effort and would just go easy for the rest of the race. My stomach still was not cooperating so anything too fast would cause me issues. I must have looked so silly being this fit white dude, in compete racing outfit, dodging through all the back of the pack participants at a slow pace. The course was basically all flat through the city with one short up and then downhill through a park before entering the big stadium to do 300M on the track to the finish line. Even with me swerving through thousands of people and taking all the turns wide I only got 9.3K on my GPS watch so even if I raced this event it wouldn’t have even been correct. I heard first place was about 27 minutes for 10K and 1:01 for the half-marathon so both races had to be at least 1K short which is not good for a high standard race in the capital of Kenya.

Running Training

Monday: https://www.strava.com/activities/261902211
AM = 4.3K/ 26:25/ 120M hill sprints x17 [120M AR]
3.3K/ 18:01/ warm up & 3.2K/ 18:39/ cool down
PM = 10.4K/ 50:02/ easy
Total: 21.2K in 1 hour 53 minutes

Tuesday: https://www.strava.com/activities/262319093
AM = 410M [210M AR] x12 + 100M sprints x8
(1:12, 1:13, 1:13, 1:15, 1:15, 1:16, 1:16, 1:15, 1:16, 1:16, 1:17, 1:15)
3.7K/ 20:43/ warm up & 4.6K/ 28:51/ cool down
PM = 10.3K/ 52:13/ easy
Total: 28.9K in 2 hours 24 minutes

Wednesday: https://www.strava.com/activities/262725060
AM = 19K/ 1:38:42/ easy
Total: 19K in 1 hour 38 minutes

Thursday: https://www.strava.com/activities/263225964
AM = 7.4K/ 30:41/ 120M diagonals x 30 min.
5K/ 28:38/ warm up & 2K/ 10:50/ cool down
PM = 10.3K/ 51:21/ easy
Total: 24.8K in 2 hours 1 minute

Friday: https://www.strava.com/activities/263652712
AM = 12.8K/ 1:02:18/ easy + 100M strides x8
Total: 12.8K in 1 hour 2 minutes

Saturday
Rest/ off

Sunday: https://www.strava.com/activities/265086764
AM = 9.3K/ 44:11/ easy on short 10K race course
Nairobi Kenya First Lady’s 10K road race
Total: 9.3K in 44 minutes

Week’s Distance & Time: 115.9K in 9 hours 44 minutes!

You can find a complete list of all my GPS detailed runs from Canada and Kenya on my STRAVA profile here:
http://www.strava.com/athletes/4446950

                 

Thank you for reading my Kenya adventures, keep on running, and I’ll be back with another update next week. Until then I’ll be posting daily at http://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life & http://www.twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life.

If you have any feedback or would like to see something in the next installment of Runner Rob’s “Kenya Running Trip,” just feel free to give me a shout. I’m having fun keeping myself busy with these weekly recaps.

#BeSuperior #RoadToTYS10K #MzunguPower #CantWontStop #ENDURrob #TrainHardWinEasy #MenAtWork #CanadianMzungu #YoungWildFree #KenyanWay #MakeExcellentHappen #ItsPossible #Runday #RunForLife #1Sport1Love #LongMayWeRun #HeavyInTheGame #RiseAndGrind #TheShoeMustGoOn #ItsPossible #ThisIsMyDay

Robert Brouillette 😀

Leave a Reply

