Kenya Running Trip: Week #9!

Posted: March 3, 2015 in Robert Brouillette

   

December 30th to March 26th 2015, I will be living in Iten, Kenya for my high altitude training running hitting up to 190K, enjoying the Kenyan culture lifestyle, eating delicious fresh healthy home-made meals, and visiting around Rift Valley to discover new things. I’m super excited to see what I can make out of this 13 week journey as I prepare for Hamilton’s Around The Bay 5K and then Toronto’s Yonge Street 10K road races this spring back home in Canada! 🙂

February 23rd – March 1st, 2015

This week for Kenya high altitude running training I ran 142.1K in 10 hours 56 minutes at 2,107 elevation gain to follow my mileage PB from last week. Monday was hill sprints with Silas of 200M hard up and active recovery back down which we repeated 12 times with me averaging 42 seconds and finished off in 39 seconds for this particular hill. Tuesday I went to Kamariny dirt track for 1K x6 off of 400M active recovery jog with my usual 100M x4 strides to start and 100M x4 sprints to finish off the workout. I started out hitting the 1K in 1:16 and worked my way up to 2:25 so I went roughly from 10K pace to half-marathon pace over those 6 sets so I didn’t bother with the other 2 sets I had planned since I was running these solo, was getting frustrated with the heat/ altitude, Kenyans flying by me, and just resulted in lost motivation. I did have Johana’s delicious pancakes and 2 cups of coffee right before I left for the track session which is not my normal pre-run diet so that may have played a reason in my performance.

Wednesday was the standard 19K loop in 1:17 for a progression of easy to moderate. Thursday I was running late so I missed the big fartlek group and ended up going by myself, but some people have pointed out I run my best fartlek’s alone anyways. The workout was 1:2 x15 so that’s 1 minute active recovery jog followed by 2 minutes hard for a total of 45 minutes. On the last set I felt something in one of my ankles that was uncomfortable so I attempted a cool down but after a few minutes I called it off and just went home. In the end it was a false alarm as their was no pain a few hours later and now with it being the end of the week I total forgot about it until now so no worries. I still had Silas give me a lower body massage in the evening just to be safe. Friday the same format as Wednesdays was 18.6K in 1:17 with 2 uphill’s in a gradual uphill last couple kilometers. Without the warm up included I would have run a personal course record and my time would tie or beat the times of the lead pack of previous weeks, I’m closing the gap on them real soon.

Saturday I had this big cool long run workout planned with Silas but due to my stomach not agreeing with something I must have eaten, again, it didn’t work out as planned. I’m surprised I got myself out the door but was because I had a friend waiting on me. What I had planned was a continuous 24K of 2K warm up, 10K fast down the street in the Rift Valley, 2K moderate, and then 10K hard effort back up. What actually happened was 2K warm up, 5K moderate down as my stomach wouldn’t let me go any faster, 5K back up easy, and then 2K cool down back home for a total of 15K with a few not pretty pit stops along the way. 3 times this week I missed my evening easy 50 minutes in 10K run due to various reasons but it is good to get that rest after all as I’m the worst for being a mileage monster when what I really need is medium mileage with focus on speed and not endurance now. Sunday evening I wanted to do the same diagonal workout I did last week since it went so well, but when I got to the track I saw a bunch of kids playing soccer on the field so I improved to 30 second intervals with 30 second active recovery jog for as long as I felt in the hot sun with me recovering from being sick after all. Silas joined me for the first few before dropping out but I did 16 sets in 16 minutes. I short little speedy session to get the legs moving quick at the end of a tough week but still leaving me fresh for the upcoming new week.

In non-running news I’m hoping my shoes all stay alive as I never planned for them to take this much of a beating out their on the rocky dusty trails. With less than a month to go they are either ripping at the seams, tread on the bottom is falling off, or the dirt has just done such a number on it that it’s not looking too pretty anymore from the brown stains. This may sound amateur but I made supper all alone for the first time of ugali with a skuma vegetable mix and my famous chai tea that the guys love, it sounds easy but with the resources I have it can be a pain.

There is a deaf Kenyan Paraolympic runner that comes to visit me sometimes and he is always so happy and excited to talk with me through his hand actions of sign language. It’s tough for me to pick up what he saying sometimes but when I do understand and communicate back he has a big smile on his face. After 2 months in Kenya I cracked by having a vanilla milkshake and a big piece of chocolate cake with icing to treat myself for everything I’ve accomplished here I suppose. It was at a nice cafe that the twin Olympic Robertson brothers took me to last year so I thought id give it a visit and as soon as I saw those desserts staring at me it was such a tease and I could resist treating my sweet teeth after all this time.

Running Training

Monday: https://www.strava.com/activities/258751768
AM = 4.6K/ 24:30/ 200M hill sprints x12
1.5K/ 8:49/ warm up & 3.1K/ 16:20/ cool down
PM = 10.3K/ 50:53/ easy
Total: 19.5K in 1 hour 40 minutes

Tuesday: https://www.strava.com/activities/259170715
AM = 10K/ 41:04/ track 1K x6 [400M AR] + 100M sprints x8
(3:13, 3:16, 3:20, 3:24, 3:24, 3:24)
4K/ 22:04/ warm up & 4.9K/ 28:50/ cool down
PM = 10.4K/ 46:31/ easy
Total: 29.3K in 2 hours 18 minutes

Wednesday: https://www.strava.com/activities/259545182
AM = 19.1K/ 1:21:38/ moderate
PM = 10.2K/ 46:40/ easy
Total: 29.3K in 2 hours 8 minutes

Thursday: https://www.strava.com/activities/260015930
AM = 10.8K/ 45:00/ fartlek 1:2 (easy: hard)
5.2K/ 25:02/ warm up & 1.3K/ 6:36/ cool down
Total: 17.3K in 1 hour 16 minutes

Friday: https://www.strava.com/activities/260391081
AM = 18.6K/ 1:17:48/ moderate
Total: 18.6K in 1 hour 17 minutes

Saturday: https://www.strava.com/activities/261013860
AM = 15K/ 1:11:05/ long run turned easy
Total: 15K in 1 hour 11 minutes

Sunday: https://www.strava.com/activities/261563045
AM = 4.1K/ 16:00/ 30 sec. intervals [30 sec. AR] x16
4K/ 20:53/ warm up & 4.9K/ 26:49/ cool down
Total: 13K in 1 hour 3 minutes

Week’s Distance & Time: 142.1K in 10 hours 56 minutes!

You can find a complete list of all my GPS detailed runs from Canada and Kenya on my STRAVA profile here:
http://www.strava.com/athletes/4446950

                    

Thank you for reading my Kenya adventures, keep on running, and I’ll be back with another update next week. Until then I’ll be posting daily at http://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life & http://www.twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life.

If you have any feedback or would like to see something in the next installment of Runner Rob’s “Kenya Running Trip,” just feel free to give me a shout. I’m having fun keeping myself busy with these weekly recaps.

#BeSuperior #RoadToTYS10K #MzunguPower #CantWontStop #ENDURrob #TrainHardWinEasy #MenAtWork #CanadianMzungu #YoungWildFree #KenyanWay #MakeExcellentHappen #ItsPossible #Runday #RunForLife #1Sport1Love #LongMayWeRun #HeavyInTheGame #RiseAndGrind #TheShoeMustGoOn #ItsPossible #ThisIsMyDay

Robert Brouillette 😀

Comments
  1. Always super nice to see your training in Kenya.

    Keep up Rob!

    Cheers.

    João

Leave a Reply

