Kenya Running Trip: Week #5!

Posted: February 2, 2015 in Robert Brouillette

     

December 30th to March 26th 2015, I will be living in Iten, Kenya for my high altitude training running hitting up to 160K, enjoying the Kenyan culture lifestyle, eating delicious fresh healthy home-made meals, and visiting around Rift Valley to discover new things. I’m super excited to see what I can make out of this 13 week journey as I prepare for Hamilton’s Around The Bay 5K and then Toronto’s Yonge Street 10K road races this spring back home in Canada! 🙂

January 26 – February 1, 2015

This week high altitude running training went a little something like this for one of my easiest weeks here due to my big mileage last week. I needed to recover, get some more life back in my legs, plus I had a race at the end of the week to taper a little for to get a solid effort in. Monday I was finishing up my visit in Mosoriot with Laban Rotich and family so I joined Simon early in the morning for a 1 hour easy progression run on my tired legs as this would make almost 200K in 8 days. I found Mosoriot to be flat and chilly compared to Iten at a higher altitude which is very hilly and warmer. Tuesday called for some rest so I skipped the morning track workout and instead went 9K easy in the evening with Jake Robertson of New Zealand who is a track Olympian. On a side note his twin brother Zane just ran his debut half-marathon in Japan to come 2nd overall by milliseconds in 59:47 and became the 3rd fastest non-African at this distance which is incredibly impressive. He and his brother have worked very hard training between Ethiopia and Kenya the last 8 years. Also, former marathon world record holder, Wilson Kipsang of Kenya won the half-marathon in Spain in 1:02.

Now back to my training recap, Wednesday was a 1 hour easy run to prepare for the Thursday solo fartlek of 1:1 (1 minute easy, 1 minute hard) with 20 sets of that in the mid-morning when it’s the hottest time of day. In the evening I joined some guys from Somalia for a 7K forest run to hide from the sun on some technical rocky trails with a fast uphill finish. Friday I doubled with two 50 minute easy runs with the first ending in 8 hill sprints and the other 8 regular strides to get some zap in my legs for the upcoming race. Saturday I went for 1 hour in the morning and 30 minutes in the evening of easy running which was probably too much for the day before the race so this is an example of junk miles I suppose. That afternoon I watched the County Cross-Country races in Iten of junior women 6K, junior men 8K, senior women 8K, and senior men 12K on a tough 2K loop course.

Finally Sunday was race day which I later decided to just call a workout after a series of unorganized and negative things happened at the event that ruined the experience for me. So I woke up nice and early, had my morning cup of chai tea, and took a taxi ride from Iten to Eldoret. With no official start time, but knowing my race would follow the women’s 10K, I quickly went off on a warm up run before gathering with all the other men in a field. My race plan was to only give a solid effort for 10K and then drop out on purpose. The half-marathon would be too much for me at this time with my focus on racing 5K/10K back home in Canada. The race director was supposed to walk us all over to the start line in a perfect world but in Kenya that never happens. All the guys were so pumped and anxious to race that they sprinted to the start line and then before many of us could get there ourselves, a false start happened so I had to rush to the road and immediately start racing. Obviously I was going to be running in the back but with this false start I was even more behind which didn’t look good. Then on top of that Kenyan’s were cheating by going underneath the rope on a roughly 2.5K loop that has out and back parts separated by just a ribbon on some poles in the middle of the road. I was so frustrated that I ran my first kilometer in 3:05 (even faster than my 5K race pace) before settling into a 3:32/K pace average by the end of 10K which I hit in 35:15 (2 minutes slower than a time I’ve ran in Canada which makes sense from the high altitude and sever heat on this mid-morning). The course was mostly flat with some normal uphill and downhill inclines, but the one hill that was in the race I had to hit 3 times and I could really feel it bad and didn’t look pretty going up. After the race was finished the race director had a ceremony where he gave the top women and men their prizes and then called up me to the front to say a few words as an mzungu (white person) from the race. I simply said “I’m Robert Brouillette from Ontario, Canada and I’m here to training for 5K/10K road races back home,” and then went and sat in the VIP tent until they brought me a cool race shirt (see picture below).

For lunch Johana and I went to a restaurant to spoil ourselves with fried liver and not one but two sodas which I haven’t drank in the month I’ve been here so what a treat that was. Back in Iten, Silas of Uganda helped me out again with a full body sports massage to loosen my muscles up as they were rock solid from a month of training in Kenya, having my biggest mileage week, and a race all packed into these little legs of mine. Now that I’ve had my fun with an easier recovery week and a road race to change things up, its time to get my butt in gear and get back to the regular training plan just like the Kenyan way should be.

Running Training

Monday = https://www.strava.com/activities/246543139
AM = 13.7K/ 1:03:19/ easy progression
Total: 13.7K in 1 hour 3 minutes

Tuesday = https://www.strava.com/activities/246886322
PM = 9K/ 42:06/ easy
(With New Zealand track Olympian, Jake Robertson)
Total: 9K in 42 minutes

Wednesday
PM = 10.9K/ 1:00:07/ easy
Total: 10.9K in 1 hour

Thursday = https://www.strava.com/activities/248578796
AM = 9.2K/ 40:03/ fartlek 1:1 x20
(5.1K/ 25:03/ warm up)
PM = 6.8K/ 33:25/ easy
Total: 21.2K in 1 hour 38 minutes

Friday
AM = 11.4K/ 56:14/ easy + hill sprints x8
PM = 10.7K/ 52:11/ easy + strides x8
Total: 22.1K in 1 hour 48 minutes

Saturday
AM = 12.5K/ 1:03:55/ easy + strides x8
PM = 8.2K/ 39:30/ easy + strides x6
Total: 20.7K in 1 hour 43 minutes

Sunday = https://www.strava.com/activities/249262133
Eldoret Discovery Kenya Half-Marathon (10K)
AM = 10K/ 35:15/ @3:32K/ road race at high altitude
(3.9K/ 21:18/ warm up)
Total: 13.9K in 56 minutes

Week’s Distance & Time = 111.6K in 8 hours 52 minutes!

You can find a complete list of all my GPS detailed runs from Canada and Kenya on my STRAVA profile here:
http://www.strava.com/athletes/4446950

                 

Thank you for reading my Kenya adventures, keep on running, and I’ll be back with another update next week. Until then I’ll be posting daily at http://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life & http://www.twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life.

If you have any feedback or would like to see something in the next installment of Runner Rob’s “Kenya Running Trip,” just feel free to give me a shout. I’m having fun keeping myself busy with these reports.

#TYS10K #CantWontStop #ENDURrob #TrainHardWinEasy #MenAtWork #CanadianMzungu #YoungWildFree #KenyanWay #MakeExcellentHappen #ItsPossible #Runday #RunForLife #1Sport1Love #LongMayWeRun #HeavyInTheGame #RiseAndGrind #TheShoeMustGoOn #ItsPossible #ThisIsMyDay

Robert Brouillette 😀

Leave a Reply

