Kenya Running Trip: Week #2!

Posted: January 12, 2015 in Robert Brouillette

December 30th to March 26th 2015, I will be living in Iten, Kenya for my high altitude training running hitting up to 160K, enjoying the Kenyan culture lifestyle, eating delicious fresh healthy home-made meals, and visiting around Rift Valley to discover new things. I’m super excited to see what I can make out of this 13 week journey as I prepare for Hamilton’s Around The Bay 5K and then Toronto’s Yonge Street 10K road races this spring back home in Canada! 🙂

January 5 – 11, 2015

Now that the first week is out-of-the-way with me settling into my home in Kenya, reunited with friends, and all that good stuff I experienced again since last year, I can get straight into the fun. This week’s recap and the rest of my blogs while I’m in Kenya are going to be mostly about my running and that only makes sense since that why I’m here in the first place. Running twice a day for usually 2 hour or more, walking everywhere, resting, relaxing, sleeping, eating, and visiting friends basically sums up my everyday life. The running week looks like this (as you can also see in detail below): Monday to Saturday in the morning is the main run or workout which could be a tempo, progressive, track, hill work, fartlek, or long run. In the afternoon is an easy run (40-60 minutes or 10K most usually at least for my group) but not including Friday so that we can rest for the long run the following day and Saturday so that we can recover from the long run itself. Sunday is always off (but an optional run for me) as most Kenyans go to church on this day and it can also be a free day to rest for the start of another hard running training week.

Monday was an 18.3K run on one of the hilliest routes I’ve ever been on and it was so steep at parts that my body was forced to run/walk some sections. This one beat me up real good and if this is what Kenyan training is like after my first real workout then I’m in for a treat. Tuesday was a speed work session on the Kamariny dirt track of 800 meters x10 and then 400 meters x4, with 100 meters strides before/after, 4K warm up and 4K cool down. I ran this one with 5 of my friends as long as I could before I couldn’t keep up the pace because it’s hard enough being at altitude in the heat but all my training partners are kind of lot faster than me to begin with. Wednesday was just a basic moderate 19.1K group run with 50 other athletes all together in a blob of dust. Thursday was the fartlek session of 1:1 (1 minute easy, 1 minute hard and repeat) so I managed to go 16 sets before feeling like my legs weren’t turning over fast enough anymore and I wasn’t maintaining a respectable speed pace. That’s when my easy run back home began and I threw in 2 more reps at the end just for fun and then I was satisfied. Friday was another basic moderate run of 16.3K but this time near the end there must have been a hill that was a couple hundred meters long that I was not expecting so it didn’t make me look to good to be caught off guard like that, so next time I’ll be ready. Regardless of the hill this was the first time I felt comfortable running without altitude, heat, or competition bothering me as I was in mid-pack for majority of the run. Saturday I got to sleep in for an extra hour so that I could run with some white dudes from the High Altitude Camp versus the Kenyan pack normally starting at 6:15AM. Most of us were either new to Kenya or getting ready to head home so we decided to take it easy-going 25-30K but halfway into the run I had to make a pit stop causing me to lose the group. My fitness was great on this run as we were staying steady around 4:15/K by the point I lost them due to me not knowing the route and with so many dirt roads it was a guessing game to find them again. I ended it running easily back after getting only a little lost for 25.2K in 2 hours 54 minutes. I call this long run focus for time on my feet as I was out there for almost 2 hours so next week will be more speed focused. Training for a 5K and 10K road races back in Canada makes me only need 25K long run at most anyways. When I get lost on my runs I always seem to find the nastiest hills, oh well, it makes me stronger, and at least so I’m told.

Other then the running, I reunited with some friends like Faustin Mpano of Rwanda who is his brother to Yves from Guelph back home, Leah who worked at Olympics Corner and I would visit everyday from my trip last year, Rey Rey a Kenyan who ran for Colorado in the states, New Zealand Olympians Jake and Zane Robertson who live in Kenya for some years now. Plus all the other elite runners from around the world who are staying at the High Altitude Camp or Kenyan friends homes like me. I got a massage mid-week from my training partner Jacob, and oh boy do the Kenyan’s really know how to find the sweet spots, meaning the places where my muscles are most tight and sore. Unlike my routine in Canada I will be doing more massages here twice a week for 1 hour and all the stretching post-run throughout the week. I’m always full from all my meals so there is no complaining there, and it’s a bonus that I can eat until I’m satisfied for as simple as $1. It was also my good friend Johana Kariankei, 23rd birthday and we celebrated with friends at his Olympics Corner shop with cake and soda (that would later give me one bad stomach ache after my 2 weeks clean of sweets). As the weeks go on, I have a feeling its going to be more and more of the running training recap and only a bit of my daily activity so I will try to keep things interesting and try new things each week to keep you all tuned in.

Running Training

Monday:
AM = 18.3K/ 1:21:58/ moderate hilly route
PM = 7.8K/ 40:26/ easy
Total: 26.2K/ 2 hours 2 minutes

Tuesday:
AM = 17.7K/ 1:21:20/ track (800M x10 & 400M x4)
PM = 9.3K/ 51:12/ easy
Total: 27K/ 2 hours 12 minutes

Wednesday:
AM = 19.1K/ 1:23:44/ moderate
PM = 8.2K/ 50:10/ easy
Total: 27.4K/ 2 hours 13 minutes

Thursday:
AM = 16.2K/ 1:14:27/ Fartlek 1:1 x18
PM = 9.7K/ 58:32/ easy
Total: 25.9K/ 2 hours 12 minutes

Friday:
AM = 16.3K/ 1:14:28/ moderate
Total:  16.3K/ 1 hour 14 minutes

Saturday:
AM = 25.1K/ 1:54:11/ moderate
Total: 25.1K/ 1 hour 54 minutes

Sunday:
AM = 12.4K/ 1:04:09 / easy with hill
Total: 12.4K/ 1 hour 4 minutes

Week’s Distance & Time = 160.3K in 12 hours and 54 minutes! (A new PB in distance, time, and elevation gain)

I’m here to focus on running of course but walking is also very beneficial to my fitness as time on my feet and trust me I do a lot of it.

You can find a complete list of all my GPS detailed runs from Canada and Kenya on my STRAVA profile here:
http://www.strava.com/athletes/4446950

IMG_8250  IMG_8259  IMG_8243  IMG_8257  IMG_8278

Thank you for reading my Kenya adventures, keep on running, and I’ll be back with another update next week. Until then I’ll be posting daily at http://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life & http://www.twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life.

I’m still getting the hang out this blogging thing so if you have any feedback or would like to see something in the next installment of Runner Rob’s “Kenya Running Trip,” just feel free to give me a shout.

#TYS10K #CantWontStop #ENDURrob #TrainHardWinEasy #MenAtWork #CanadianMzungu #YoungWildFree #KenyanWay #MakeExcellentHappen #ItsPossible #Runday #RunForLife #1Sport1Love #LongMayWeRun #HeavyInTheGame #RiseAndGrind #TheShoeMustGoOn #ItsPossible

Robert Brouillette 😀

Leave a Reply

