Wellesley Harvest Half-Marathon!

Posted: September 21, 2014 in Robert Brouillette

Harvest-Half-Marathon-Logo-V2      Waterloo-Running-Series14
On Saturday September 13th 2014, I ran the Harvest Half (half-marathon) which is a first annual event in the Waterloo Running Series in the St. Clemens/ Wellesley area on mostly farm gravel country roads with some paved streets at start/finish spot. It was a rainy morning, but that didn’t stop about a dozen of us Health and Performance club members from coming out to run either the 1st annual event in the Waterloo Running Series with distances of either a Half-Marathon (21.1K) and Quarter-Marathon (10.55K or half of the half-marathon). Brendan and I went for our 15-20 minutes warm up talking about how it’s his first race since the infamous ENDURrun 30K at Bechtel Park and my second of three September weekend races In a row, since the ENDURrun marathon out in Conestogo almost a month ago with Toronto Yorkville 5K last weekend and Toronto Zoo 10K next weekend (both Canadian Road Race Championships). Anyways, so I quickly rushed inside to get changed into my race gear, was the last runner of the building, and sprinted to the start line in time to get maybe one or two lame strides in before I settled on the starting line beside Brendan, Dave, and Tarah (wife to 2012 Boston Marathon winner, Wesley Korir of Kenya). The rain was very light and roads wet but nothing bad that would affect race performance and the temperature was just right for me to wear my H&P singlet (there is a new Canadian edition singlet coming out in a month that I can’t wait for), Nike race socks instead of my usual CEP compression socks because I was afraid of the rain making them wet/heavy, and finally New Balance bright yellow 1400v2 (Only second race in them other than the marathon plus some long runs makes it my favorite shoe at the moment). Going into this race I had a PB of 1:18:13 from the Burlington Chilly Half-Marathon back in early March, less than a week after arriving back to Canada from my two-month Kenya training trip. That has been the worst race of my year so I was ready to really PB big here and believing it shouldn’t be too hard. Two days before this race I did a 24K tempo run with WU and CD being around 30K with friends and made sure I took the day before completely off with me working 12 hours at my job. Going to the start line with all factors considered it wasn’t supposed to be a top performance effort but at the same time I was feeling really good. Now finally to the real race, the gun went off and from start to finish it would be a battle of Speed Demon Brendan versus Runner Rob. He took the first kilometer out quicker than me but I consciously let the gap increase as I was set on keeping an even pace through the race and didn’t want to drop a crazy fast kilometer and die off like I’ve done in the past. So first kilometer I still went through in 3:22, a little quicker then I wanted but it felt so comfortably easy I couldn’t have gone any slower. Then we were on a flat paved road straight out to where the farm country started going 3:28 and 3:24/K still comfortably. Once we hit the gravel road it would be like an out and back loop through stinky farms, past cows/horses, rolling hills, pot holes, and a tad muddy from the rain. I closed in on Brendan passing him around 5K which I held from a couple of kilometers until he reeled me back in and would keep that lead all the way back to the main road again at about 19K with me holding between 3:30-3:40/K for about that 17K chunk of gravel road. Now back on the road with Brendan leading most of the race I pass him with a 3:35/K and then drop a 3:30 last kilometer to gap 2nd place by 31 seconds. I won 1st overall in 1:15:08 at 3:33/K average pace, meaning a new Half-Marathon PB by over 3 minutes. On top of that I got a few other PB’s of 56:55 for 10-miles, 1:11:06 for 20K and 3rd best 15K of 53:04 according to my Garmin Forerunner 10 watch uploaded to the amazing running tracker site called STRAVA that so many of my teammates and friends use and love. This doesn’t mean much for a first annual event but just  for the sake of saying it, I have the CR here for now until we see what happens next year. All in all, for a non tapered, 12-shift pre-race day work shift, carb loaded so much, drank litres of water galore, and 30K day two days out, kind of HM race I’d say I was pretty fortunate that all worked out so well for me in a not so serious race in my training. At the award ceremony I received my finishers medal designed with a corn on it, 1st place overall gold medal, and a Kenyan-made bead bracelet with the designs being “HH” for Harvest Half, a picture of corn, and the Kenyan flag. I loved the green athletic fitting race shirt I got at race kit pickup and all the cartons of chocolate milk at the post-race event with Krista Duchene (one of Canada’s fastest women marathoners) who came out to support and even got a wicked photo of my coming around the last corner for the win. Next up is the Toronto Zoo Canadian Championship 10K in a week and then finally my big “A” race in a month and a bit for the Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon. Until next time, thanks for tuning into my race report, and keep running!
#CantWontStop #TrainHardWinEasy #ItsPossible 🙂

 SUMMARY
Race = Wellesley Harvest
Half
Distance = Half-Marathon (21.1K)
Time = 1:15:08
Pace = 3:34/K
Overall Place = 1st/311
Age Group = 1st/10

SOCIAL MEDIA
Race Video = https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZpzNQrH9uw
Interview Video = https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0na6b3Pyq2g
My Photo Album = https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152704524038874.1073741874.511403873&type=1&l=0559e6c9ad
RunWaterloo Photo Gallery = https://picasaweb.google.com/runwaterloo
RunWaterloo Recap = http://runwaterloo.com/2014-harvest-half/
H+P Club Summary = http://coachinghealthandperformance.blogspot.ca/2014/09/hp-at-2014-harvest-half.html
ChipTime Results = http://www.chiptimeresults.com/resultsreader.php?y=2014&r=harvesthalfH.htm
Strava GPS Stats = http://www.strava.com/activities/194039410/overview
Race Series Website = http://runwaterloo.com/
My Facebook = https://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life
My Twitter = https://twitter.com//RunnerRob4Life
Email = robert-brouillette@hotmail.com
DSC_0025    DSC_0394_2      IMG_7629    IMG_7638      DSC04497    DSC04502

Robert Brouillette

Leave a Reply

