Mississauga 10K!

Posted: May 8, 2014 in Robert Brouillette

  

On Saturday May 3rd 2014, I ran the Valeant Pharmaceuticals Mississauga 10K. It was a rainy day but I didn’t let that bother me at all. I also went into this race not knowing one single other person. One year ago I ran the Toronto GoodLife full marathon which falls on the same day as the Mississauga Marathon race weekend. Anyways back to my race, as soon as I showed up at the start line area where everyone was warming up, I noticed two Kenyan looking dudes, one being last years winner Josephat Ongeri and the other was his friend Fred Karanja who would later go on to finish 1st and 2nd respectively. When they gathered everyone at the start line the race director asked anyone under 35 minutes for 10K to only step to the front line. Josephat, Fred, Matt Leduc, and I were the only ones to step forward. Once the gun went off for the race to start I was surrounded by teens who were only doing the relay but once I got away from them I was comfortably in 5th place. Josephat and Fred easily took off on their sub 3:00/K pace and I of course let them go, but seeing a taller skinny white man running in 3rd made me think I could stick with him. Little did I know that it was Matt Leduc (Burlington Chilly 1/2 marathon winner in sub 1:10:00) but not knowing this I pushed hard passing the 4th place runner from some Mississauga track club and held my ground now in 4th myself. Now with like 8K to go I’ve decided there is two options push really hard to get 3rd and risk dropping back to 5th or worst if it doesn’t work out or keep my pace and see what happens. Matt kept his gap on me from this point all the way to the finish so it became a race for time and maybe a PB if I can on this flat (other than the early rolling hills), bug infested route. Now about those bugs, because the race was along the lake shore there were so many freaking little black flies everywhere and I bet every running came out of that race covered in them, ate some, and got them in their eyes just like me. The rest of the race wasn’t so eventful so I just maintained my consistent pace to the best of my ability and then sprinted hard with 500 meters to go finishing in 4th in a time of 33:44, just 7 seconds out from my Toronto Yonge Street 10K 33;37 PB the other week (net downhill). I got my finishers medal, 1st place 20-29 age group gift card prize, had some chocolate milk and a juicy burger with my Dad and called it a day. All in all I’m happy with 4th but it’s such a tease from that podium top 3, not to mention the sweet cash awarded there. Oh well, can’t win them all but next weekend is SportingLife 10K for the first time (even though it’s the same course as Toronto Yonge Street 10K) so I look forward to that where I know two strong competitors will be there. Until next time, Runner Rob out!      
#CantStopWontStop #MakeExcellentHappen #TrainHardWinEasy 🙂

SUMMARY
Race = Valeant Pharmaceuticals Mississauga

Distance = 10K
Time = 33:44 min.
Pace = 3:23/K
Overall Place = 4th/1074
Age Group (20-29) = 1st/81

SOCIAL MEDIA
Race Photos = http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152396636818874.1073741863.511403873&type=1&l=4ceecefb7f
SportStats Results = http://www.sportstats.ca/displayResults.xhtml?racecode=108080
Race Website = http://www.mississaugamarathon.com/default.shtml
Strava GPS Stats = http://www.strava.com/activities/137116468
Nike GPS SportWatch = secure-nikeplus.nike.com/plus/activity/running/RunnerRob/detail/1942000000015649832580014280428902806372
My Twitter = twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life
Email = robert-brouillette@hotmail.com

I'm all ready to start the race!

I’m all ready to start the race!

50 meters from the finish line!

Almost at the finish line in 4th place overall!

Me with my finishers medal!

Me with my finishers medal!

I had to get a cop car selfie!

I had to get a cop car selfie!

– Robert Brouillette

Leave a Reply

