London Downtown 5K!

Posted: April 18, 2014 in Robert Brouillette

Downtown5km     

On Friday April 18th 2014, I ran the London Downtown 5K clearly in downtown London, Ontario starting and finishing at Victoria Park. This is my first time racing an event in the London Honda Race Series and first road race in the London area in general other than the Fanshawe cross-country Invitational in September for College. Anyways, I knew there would be a lot of competition going into this race against guys from London Runners Distance Club (LRDC), Fanshawe College, and some Western University men. I went down to the race with my Mom, picked up my race kit with a nice soft t-shirt and race bib, before setting off alone on a warm up around the park. The race would almost be two same 2.5K loops to make the flat and fast 5K road race. Some big names in the race that I know were Kyle O’Neill, John Mason, Josh Morrison, Clint Smith, and Daniel Bright. Then men all have a strong history of running quick times so I was best to just let me take the lead which is exactly what I did once the race started. My splits for this race were unreal with me running the first 3K in 3:03/K hitting 3:03 at 1K, 6:06 at 2K, and 9:09 at 3K. Those are amazingly consistent and rather fast times for me but I wasn’t able to hold on the last 2K even though I surprisingly passed more people coming into the finish. 4K jumped to 3:25 before I closed stronger in a 3:22 to finish the race in 16:29 minutes for 21st overall and 12th in my age group. Something odd just to note is that my Nike GPS SportWatch has been very accurate all this season with my races but for this event it showed I hit 5K in 15:55 for 3:11/K average pace and not the 34 second later finish time of 16:28 which is 3:18/K for “5K”. Oh well, watches are nice and all but they don’t win you races. All in all. I am happy with my 3rd PB in less than a month (two 5K’s and 10K), I felt in control, relaxed, didn’t go out too hard, and ran consistent for the most part. It was good to see some old competitors from the fall XC season such as DB (you know who you are) who has taught me along lately about living a positive healthy life and helping lead me to be a better runner for my future. “It is possible!” – Les Brown. With the Toronto Yonge Street 10K this past weekend and the Easter weekend ahead, I will see how I feel about another 5K road race in Guelph for the last weekend in April. This will also be my 22nd Birthday week so I should make something exciting happen like another strong performance race before I get a good rest and some solid training in before my two 10K’s in May.
#CantStopWontStop #MakeExcellentHappen #TrainHardWinEasy #RunnerRob 🙂

SUMMARY
Race = London Downtown
Distance = 5K
Time = 16:28 min.
Pace = 3:18/K
Overall Place = 21st/418
Age Group (20-24) = 15th/33

SOCIAL MEDIA
Race Photos = http://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life/media_set?set=a.10152357946488874.1073741861.511403873&type=3
Race results = http://www.roadraceresults.com/display-race-results.php?ferec=14071&place=21&r=
Race website = http://www.londonroadraces.ca/downtown-5km.php
London Race Series = http://www.londonroadraces.ca/
Nike GPS SportWatch = secure-nikeplus.nike.com/plus/activity/running/RunnerRob/detail/6166000000016588729460082125179108485359
My Twitter = twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life
Email = robert-brouillette@hotmail.com

All ready for the race!

All ready for the race!

The start of the race!

The start of the race!

Me about to cross the finish line just behind another guy!

Me about to cross the finish line just behind another guy!

A new 5K PB of 16:29 minutes!

A new 5K PB of 16:29 minutes!

– Robert Brouillette

Leave a Reply

