Toronto Harry’s Spring Run-Off 5K!

Posted: April 18, 2014 in Robert Brouillette

    

On Saturday April 5th 2014, I ran Harry’s Spring Run-Off 5K in Toronto, on the road inside High Park. This was the last Toronto race in the Canada Running Series that I hadn’t participated in until now. The morning was chilly with some cold winds but forced me to have to layer up more than I wanted to for the race. The 8K race went off first where Around The Bay 30K champion, Paul Kimugul, just out sprinted Sami Jibril, last years winner, with Eric Gillis of Guelph rounding out the top 3. Krista Duchene was the women’s champion once again after her Around The Bay 30K win last week as well. Now for the 5K event that I was racing in, the weather warmed up a bit for us but not by much. I was lined up at the start line surrounded by a bunch of kids thinking to myself that either I wish I was in the 8K with the more elite guys or I can just accept a fairly easy win today. Anyways, what ended up happening is that I started off the race in 5th place comfortably behind some high school kids that I assumed went out to hard. Unlucky for me these four high school boys were part of some Toronto running club so I had myself a tough race after all. Once I realized I was simply only keeping a consistent pace and these guys weren’t slowing down, I had to grind hard and catch them one by one before it was too late or “the hill” got me in the end. At the 4K mark I passed the 4th place runner and thought to myself I might as well be top 3 if I’ve come this far so dug even deeper and passed the 3rd place runner. This 3rd place happiness only lasted a second before the guy pull some energy outta no where and sprinted away. Then I reached “the hill” which was maybe 500M long, but steep and led up to the top where the finish is and everyone’s watching. I’ve said this a million times but hills are my number one weakness so I just figured I better give it everything I got left and finish strong in 4th place. Halfway up the hill feeling like I was running backwards, the 5th place runner passed me back and blew me away as I jogged the last 50 meters to the finish line. I really hate hills. In the end 1st place was just 30 seconds ahead and top 3 was just 6 seconds for a close top 5 finish. All in all I really disliked the cold, the wind, the hill, and being beat by 15-19 year old high school boys but it just shows me that I need to work harder and to take my competition more seriously. You never know a runners history, skill, or experience, just by looking at them. I am happy with my 1st place for my age but no PB today and to be honest I wasn’t expecting it either so no loss. Last week was Around The Bay 5K 16:32 PB and next weekend is the Toronto Yonge Street 10K for my Health & Performance club of Waterloo debut and I’ll get to meet up with Kip Kangogo once again.

SUMMARY
Race = Harry’s Spring Run-Off Toronto
Distance = 5K
Time = 17:08 min.
Pace = 3:26/K
Overall Place = 5th/1348
Age Group (20-24) = 1st/26

SOCIAL MEDIA
Race Photos = http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152329183123874.1073741859.511403873&type=1&l=ec88513053
Race results = http://www.sportstats.ca/displayResults.xhtml?racecode=107832
Race website = http://www.canadarunningseries.com/springrunoff
Canadian Running Series = http://www.canadarunningseries.com
Nike GPS SportWatch = secure-nikeplus.nike.com/plus/activity/running/RunnerRob/detail/1190000000004705528120010944516913256493
Article on 8K race = http://www.torontowaterfrontmarathon.com/blog/2014/04/kimugul-duchene-win-blustery-harrys-spring-run-off-8k-in-high-park-toronto/
My Twitter = https://twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life
Email = robert-brouillette@hotmail.com

Just before the start of the 5K!

Just before the start of the 5K!

The start of the HSROT 5K!

The start of the HSROT 5K!

The first loop, coming down the hill in 5th!

The first loop, coming down the hill in 5th!

A tough uphill finish, gunning for that top 3!

A tough uphill finish, gunning for that top 3!

– Robert Brouillette

Comments
  1. […] track! The start of the half-marathon! Me with about 1K or less to go! A tough uphill finish, gunning for that top 3! My H+P coach and I are very happy with our […]

Leave a Reply

