Hamilton Around The Bay 5K!

Posted: April 6, 2014 in Robert Brouillette

On Sunday March 30th 2014, I ran Around The Bay 5K in Hamilton, starting just out front of the FirstOntario Centre. But before race day I must say I was fortunate enough to be able to host Kip Kangogo at my house the night before the race. We talked about all sorts of running things, watch past race video’s, and talked about our running in the future. Also Kip is originally from a city in Kenya which was not very far at all from where I’ve stayed while doing my high altitude training for 2 months so we had lots to say about the Kenyan life over there. Anyways, after a delicious pasta dinner, good nights rest, and hydration off water bottles like crazy, we were ready to drive over to the race. In the morning I simply drank some of my PowerBar endurance powder shaken up in a water bottle and that was all I needed to have the energy to run my first competitive 5K of 2014 and 9 months since I ran my PB of 16:41 minutes. When we arrived at the event, Kip and I went to check out the finishing area and got an idea of how to handle that sharp turn finish in the underground tunnel into the stadium. We did our 15-20 minute easy warmup and then some drills and then headed to our start lines to wait for the gun to go off. The 30K went off 15 minutes before my 5K so I stood in the crowd cheering on Kip as he sprinted from the start line of the 30K start line. Next up was my turn so I did my typical strides and stretches to loosen up my muscles and get some of the nervous jitters out. In this race featured Guelph University’s Yves Sikuwabo, Alexander Hinton, Josh Morrison, Kate Van Buskirk, and last years winner Peter Corrigan. Jumping straight into how the race played out, I ran in the second pack for the first kilometer in 3:07 comfortably, before dropping to a 3:20 for 2K knowing I was running the first half comfortably fast and then pushing it last 2.5K. When I got to that half way point pin turnaround pylon, I instantly excelled and left that pack behind me, however Kate running strong stayed in front of me by some meters. She would control that gap in front of me all the way to the end. I ran the 3K in 3:18 and 4K in 3:15, getting faster and faster just like I planned. I did manage to catch up to another guy who I battled the last 1K with but sadly fell short by 1 second due to that difficult last 100 meters with 2 sharp turns to the finish line. In the end Peter Corrigan won back-to-back 5K titles with a new time of 14:29, Alexander Hinton and my friend Yves Sikuwabo both from Guelph University coming 2nd and 3rd in 14:34 and 15:16 minutes to round out the top 3. Josh Morrison ran a strong race for 7th place in 15:49 minutes. Kate Van Buskirk lead the women’s field from start to finish so comfortably in a time of 16:18 minutes for 10th overall. Finally I came through in 12th place overall, 6th for my age group 20-24, in a new PB time of 16:32 minutes. All in all, I really enjoyed the race and have no excuses about how things played out with perfect weather, a simple fast out and back course, strong competition to pull me along, and my friends and lots of Hamilton residents cheering us all on. I will definitely with out a doubt be back next year for this 5K race again. Next up is the Harry’s Spring Run-Off Toronto 5K followed by Toronto Yonge Street 10K, both in the Canada Running Series!

SUMMARY
Race = Around The Bay
Distance = 5K
Time = 16:32 min.
Pace = 3:19/K
Overall Place = 12th/2287
Age Group (20-24) = 6th/61

SOCIAL MEDIA
Race Photos = http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152316831998874.1073741858.511403873&type=1&l=e099e5802c
Race website = http://www.aroundthebayroadrace.com/
Race results = http://www.sportstats.ca/displayResults.xhtml?racecode=107670
Nike GPS SportWatch = secure-nikeplus.nike.com/plus/activity/running/RunnerRob/detail/1767000000015085035300027961645130671621
Canadian Running article = runningmagazine.ca/duchene-and-kimugul-win-around-the-bay-30k/
The Spec article = http://www.thespec.com/sports-story/4438795-5k-bay-race-winners-enjoy-victory-as-a-couple/
My Facebook = www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life
My Twitter = twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life
Email = robert-brouillette@hotmail.com

30K race start!

30K race start!

5K race start!

5K race start!

Me with about 1K or less to go!

Me with about 1K or less to go!

Me and my new friend Kip Kangogo with his 2nd place trophy in the 30K!

Me and Kip Kangogo with his 2nd place trophy in the 30K!

– Robert Brouillette

Comments
  1. RunMikeRun says:

    Hey Rob it’s Michael from xc Conestoga, I ran the full 30 in 2:13, it was a tough race, lots of small hills and a couple tough hills at the end. Congratulations on your new PB, all the time in Iten is paying off big time. Im enjoying your blog, and look forward to hearing about your summer races. I have a marathon in Vancouver on May 4th trying to get under the 3:05 but will be happy with anything under 3:15.

  2. […] Olympian, Asbel Kiprop, and I at the dirt track! The start of the half-marathon! Me with about 1K or less to go! A tough uphill finish, gunning for that top 3! […]

Leave a Reply

