YMCA Jingle Bell 5K!

Posted: November 24, 2013 in Robert Brouillette

         

On Sunday November 24th 2013, I ran the YMCA Jingle Bell 5K road race in Cambridge. Before I even got to my race, I was happy to help my mom in running her first race since she last ran when she was just 13 years old. She did the 2.5K at 10AM and I would race the 5K at 10:30AM. She ran her race with me right by her side the entire time and finished in 18:36 minutes for the out and back 2.5K course through the YMCA forest trail. It’s hard committing yourself to a race after all these years of not running and then trying to get to the finish line, but I am proud my mom did just that. This is just the beginning of her running and I hope she will be motivated enough to continue with this sport even at a social, fun, recreational, and community level. Now as for me and my 5K, it was absolutely freezing and this is the first time I have had to wear more than my singlet for a race this year. When the race started I went out strong to get a place ahead of everyone else except for a few other fast guys. The first 1K was the trail behind the YMCA that winded to the road and this part I just took easy but still kept an honest pace. Once I hit the road the race was between me, Marcus Noble, Kyle Decker, and Josh Morrison, as we sorted ourselves out for the next 3K until we hit the forest back to the YMCA. During this part of the race, Marcus was leading for a bit trying to hold his place strong, Kyle was pushing to then hold the lead for the rest of the race, and Josh fought well to sneak up just behind him with me securing 3rd place by the 3K mark or so and Marcus not far behind. The trail back wasn’t all that hard but I was alone by this point so I was pushing on unaware of my speed or where my competition was. In the end Kyle ran a 16:14 with Josh just behind in 16:17, then me in at 16:58, and Marcus following with 17:17. After I crossed the line I talked with my coaches Dave Sharratt from Conestoga XC and Gary Cassell from Cambridge Harriers. As soon as I went inside the YMCA to get warm, my hand and fingers went into shock and it felt like they were on fire from the sudden temperature change. It hurt a lot and my fingers locked up even, but now I know I need even warmer gloves which I’ll get from the Running Room as they are well-known for their amazing thermal gloves. Anyways, I went to the gym for the awards ceremony and got my 1st place medal for my age group of 20-29, and noticed I am ranked 2nd place because Kyle Dekker, who won, actually is part of a group team, but that doesn’t take away from his great performance. All in all, I have done this race 4 years in a row now, I’m glad the medal looks nicer this year, proud of my Mom on her first race, and satisfied with my race with the cold conditions I faced. I have a few more races this winter so let’s hope things get warmer from now on (yeah right!). I’m on a new training plan and running some serious miles for winter with about 160K weeks to build my base before the real speed training begins in the spring.

SUMMARY
Race = YMCA Jingle Bell

Distance = 5K
Time = 16:58 min.
Pace = 3:24/K
Overall Place = 2nd/157
Age Group Place (20-29) = 1st/10

SOCIAL MEDIA
Race results = http://www.chiptimeresults.com/resultsreader.php?y=2013&r=cambridgejinglebellL.htm
Cambridge Times article = http://www.cambridgetimes.ca/sports-story/4246061-harriers-win-11-medals-at-annual-jingle-bell-run/
My Facebook = https://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life
My Twitter = https://twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life

My mom and I after her first race of 2.5K and me finishing the 5K!

My mom and I after her first race of 2.5K and me finishing the 5K!

Waiting for me to get my 1st place age category award!

Waiting for me to get my 1st place age category award!

– Robert Brouillette

Leave a Reply

