Humber XC 8K!

Posted: October 17, 2013 in Robert Brouillette

    

On Saturday October 5th 2013, I ran a Ontario College 8K cross-country race in Toronto for Conestoga. This is the third race of the season so far and the third XC race weekend in a row, but we will get 2 weekends off from racing before Provincials. The course was 770M x2 and 2.2K x3 so slightly over 8K with a hill three times and the rest mostly flat trails or a grass section. The race started out with the 770 meter grass loop twice which my top 4 teammates including myself staying near the front pack with us all running in a line together one after another. Once the three 2.2K loops start there is a hill so we spread out a little but when regrouped as a school through the trails. I felt good and with the four of us pushing each other it made the race go by faster and allow us to pass people one by one. Eventually my teammate Liam took off from the three of us so we all stuck together till the last lap where Brendan gaped Ahmed and I by a couple of seconds. In the last few hundred meters, I kicked ahead of Ahmed by just a bit but unfortunately I didn’t see a chase pack sneaking up on me and they beat me in the sprint finish. However, Conestoga College men pulled off another 3rd place as a team but no plaque this time. Liam just missed top 10 by seconds, and Brendan sneaked under top 20, while Ahmed and I were top 25 together. It was good to know that with Fanshawe back racing a College race, Conestoga men were still able to keep that top 3 as a team of 4 guys. All in all I was pleased with my performance as well as my team and I know we can be even stronger with a proper taper before our next 2 serious races. This course is also going to be the Canada College National Championships that will be help in November 9th and I am confident that my men’s team will make it as well as our women’s team possibly.

SUMMARY
Race = Humber XC

My School = Conestoga College
Distance = 8K cross-country
Time = 29:09 min.
Pace = 3:39/K
Overall Place = 23rd/98
Team Place = 3rd/10

SOCIAL MEDIA
Results = http://www.trackie.com/track-and-field/Results/2013-humber-invitational/2363/
Picture album of the race =
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151905797038874.1073741849.511403873&type=1&l=bd6eac2cd5
My Facebook = https://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life
My Twitter = https://twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life

The start of the men's race!

The start of men’s 8K race!

3 Conestoga men staying together.

3 Conestoga men staying together.

Me fighting to push up the hill!

Me fighting to push up the hill!

My finish!

My finish!

– Robert Brouillette

//

//

Leave a Reply

