Waterloo Classic 10K!

Posted: June 17, 2013 in Robert Brouillette

    

On Sunday June 16th 2013, I raced the Waterloo Classic 10K road race starting at the University Stadium in Waterloo. I drove down to the race with Kenyan, Johana Kariankei, and met up with my friends, Dave Sharratt, Brendan Hancock, Payton Thiel, and Erik Vicujnik who is actually flying out to Austria in a week for an Ironman triathlon. On our way to the race it was raining a lot, and if you know me then you know I hate the rain because it kills my race mood. However, Johana talked me into just going out and racing my best race regardless of the weather because I have worked hard for this. Once we got inside the stadium we grabbed our race kits and then scrambled to get in a short warm up and a few strides before rushing to the start line for the mass start of 3K, 5K, and 10K runners. When the gun went off for the race to start, Brendan, Dave, Johana, and I sprinted off and ran a 3:05 for the first kilometer staying in a pack of about 10 runners. When we hit the 2.5K mark, the 3K racers had already turned around earlier and the 5K guys were turning around now so the lead pack cut in half to about 5 of us. Johana made his move and gapped us all, while Brendan, Dave, a guy named Jason Weppler, and I followed behind. For the last 9K I managed to hold a pretty consistent pace of between 3:24-3:36 per kilometer. In the end I managed to finish in 3rd place overall behind the winner Johana and second place going to Jason Weppler by being just 15 seconds in front of me. My finishing time was 34:41 minutes with an average pace of 3:28/K which was a great time for me but a bit slower than my PB. It was pouring pretty hard so Johana and I grabbed our finishers medal, some water/Gatorade and headed inside to wait for the awards ceremony. We made ourselves a cup of coffee, grabbed a muffin, and then headed over to a table where Tarah Korir was advertising for her race that will be in the fall of 2014. Tarah is an amazing runner and has a beautiful daughter with the 2012 Boston Marathon winner, Kenyan Wesley Korir and a baby on its way soon. Johana, Tarah, and I chatted for a while about how we can visit when we are all over in Kenya this summer and that I will finally be fortunate enough to meet Wesley. Johana and I were then called up for our top 3 overall in the 10K medal and cash prize which was nice. All in all, I am very happy with my result considering the wet rainy conditions, short warm up, and didn’t fuel myself going into the race like I had wanted to, but it all worked out in my favour in the end. This was my first time doing this race in the Waterloo Running Series, I loved it, and will most likely be doing it again next year.       

SUMMARY
Race = Waterloo Classic

Distance = 10K
Time = 34:41 min.
Pace = 3:28/K
Overall Place = 3/460
Age Group Place (20-24) = 2/18

SOCIAL MEDIA
Facebook photo album of my race = https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151664550453874.1073741841.511403873&type=1&l=635327f0bb

Race website = http://raceroster.com/events/2013/244/2013-Waterloo-Classic-Road-Races/
Race results = http://www.chiptimeresults.com/resultsreader.php?y=2013&r=waterlooclassicL.htm
My Facebook = https://www.facebook.com/RunnerRob4Life
My Twitter = https://twitter.com/RunnerRob4Life

Johana and I before the 10K race!

Johana and I before the 10K race!

The start of all the Waterloo Classic races!

The start of all the Waterloo Classic races!

My 3rd place finish in 34:41 minutes for the 10K race!

My 3rd place finish in 34:41 minutes for the 10K race!

Me and Johana after the race with our medals!

Me and Johana after the race with our medals!

– Robert Brouillette

//

Comments
  1. […] recaps of the race: Trina | Rob | Luke | […]

  2. […] recaps of the race: Trina | Rob | Luke | […]

Leave a Reply

