Guelph Lake 5K!

Posted: June 12, 2013 in Robert Brouillette

On Sunday June 9th 2013, I raced the Guelph Lake 5K at the Guelph Lake Conservation Area. My Conestoga College coach David Sharratt and I both decided to do this 5K race since I haven’t done a short fast race in a while due to my long distance training the past few months for races like Around the Bay 30K, GoodLife Toronto Marathon, and Tamarack Ottawa Half-Marathon. Race start time was at 9:00AM so Dave and I showed up an hour earlier to get our race kits, do a 20 minute or so warm up and do some dynamic stretches before heading over to the start line for some quick strides. Once the race started for both the 5K and 10K racers, I went out quick to lead the front pack of four to a 3:06 first kilometer. The lead pack consisted of my coach/ training partner, David Sharratt, Ivan Meiszinger who was on the Cambridge Harrier’s club with me, Cody Beals who was in the 10K which ended up winning in 33:01, and then of course myself. From then on they’re was a lot of winding roads and rolling hills so the pace dropped for me to a 3:15 at 2K, 3:31 at 3K, 3:29 at 4K, and finished the last kilometer in a 3:28 which was very tough with an uphill leading to the finish after the top. In the end I ran 16:46 minutes for 5K, getting me 3rd place overall behind the winner Ivan in 16:22 and 2nd place was Dave in 16:34. Thankfully those last few hills didn’t beat me up too bad and I held my top 3 place from Josh Kramer who finished behind me in 16:58 minutes. Overall it was a great scenic race, I achieved a new PB, it made me excited to run more fast on a flatter course, and went home with a $25 gift certificate to the Running Work’s in Guelph for coming in 3rd. I haven’t raced a 5K since back in November of 2012, so it was good to get back into that as it will help prepare me for 8K cross-country racing in the fall. I am now only 2 weeks out from flying to Kenya to train there with the locals, some Olympians, and a friend that I recently met in Guelph named Johana Kariankei who lives in Iten, Kenya but is here in Guelph, Ontario to do some road races from 10K to half-marathon before he returns home in late July. I still have 2 more races before I leave which are the Cambridge Classic Mile on Friday June 14th and the Waterloo Classic 10K on Sunday June 16th.

SUMMARY
Race = Guelph Lake
Distance = 5K
Time = 16:46 min
Pace = 3:21/K
Overall Place = 3/240
Age Group Place (20-29) = 2/77

SOCIAL MEDIA

Facebook photo album of my race = https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151649006683874.1073741839.511403873&type=1&l=3f3202acdc
Guelph Tribune article of my race = http://www.guelphtribune.ca/sports/sunday-run-day/
Twitter = @RunnerRob4Life

Me in front of the Guelph Lake!

Me in front of the Guelph Lake!

My 5K finish in 16:46 minutes!

My 5K finish in 16:46 minutes!

Me, Ivan, and Dave, are the top 3 finishers for the Guelph Lake 5K.

Me, Ivan, and Dave, are the top 3 finishers for the 5K!

– Robert Brouillette

//

Leave a Reply

