Tamarack Ottawa Half-Marathon!

Posted: June 4, 2013 in Robert Brouillette

On May 26th 2013, I raced for the second year in a row the Tamarack Ottawa Half-Marathon with this years time being 1:19:16 minutes. It wasn’t the time I was looking for but that’s ok because at least it’s a new PB by about a minute faster than the time I ran at the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon last year in October. My training for this race was from all the mileage I did for the GoodLife Toronto Marathon just 3 weeks before and then adding in some more speed work and lowering the mileage back down after my first marathon for this half-marathon. I felt ready and was well rested for the race and so was my friend Brendan Hancock who also came up to Ottawa again with me for the half-marathon. On Saturday morning I headed to the expo to pick up my race kit, explore all the booths, and listen to John Stanton, the founder of the Running Room, give a pre-race speech, give running tips, and answer some questions, before Dr. Greg Wells gave his talk on various scientific running topics. I then headed back to my friend’s house so we could go on an easy 30 minute run with a few sprints to get our legs moving before the half-marathon the next day. That evening I was excited to watch the Ottawa 10K on Rogers TV which featured elite runners like my new friend Johana Kariankei who few down here from Iten, Kenya, as well as Canadian Kelly Wiebe, Krista DuChene, and Lanni Marchant who I was fortunate enough to meet a month ago after the Toronto Yonge Street 10K. They all ran great races with Johana performing in one of his few races before heading back to Kenya, Kelly Wiebe being the men’s Canadian winner, Krista getting a new PB, and Lanni being the women’s Canadian winner for the 10K. Then I had a nice spaghetti pasta dinner before getting ready for bed to be properly rested for the half-marathon in the morning. When I woke up, I quickly got ready before turning on the TV to watch the start of the Ottawa Marathon which featured Canadian Rob Watson and not Eric Gillis due to a minor injury, however, he did make a great commentator for the Ottawa race weekend. I did end up watching the rest of the marathon on TV later in the day and found out that Rob ran a 2:18:33, getting him 10th overall, and 1st place for Canadians giving him the National championship title which is simply amazing. When it was time for my friend Brendan and I to go to our race, we hopped in my car and drove over to the start line area to do an easy warm up run and some stretches before getting a middle front row spot on the start line of about 10,000 half-marathon runners. I felt great at this point and was confident that my race would go well. My race outfit was my Nike+ GPS SportWatch, Conestoga College singlet, CEP Canadian edition compression socks, and New Balance 1600 shoes. When the horn went off for the half-marathon race to start, the eventual winner named Josh Karanja, my friend Brendan Hancock, and I all went out fast together to hold top 3 respectively for the first few kilometers. Eventually the three of us separated and the rest of the pack behind me slowly caught up as I was going through 5K in 17:05 and 10K in 35:51 minutes. These splits were 1:30-2:00 minutes faster than what I have planned to do causing the second half of my race to be slower than I had hoped for. I stayed well hydrated by stopping at the odd Gatorade/water station which helped and dodged all the marathon runners in the last couple kilometers. At 20K I looked at my watch and knew I was slower than my goal time and wouldn’t be able to make up for it so I pushed on and made the most of the last minutes of my race by getting the crowd cheering louder and sprinted in hard to finish the Ottawa half-marathon in 1:19:16, getting me 14th overall, and 4th for my age group with me being 21 years old. In the end it was a PB which I am happy about but I did learn for next time not to get caught up in the beginning of the race excitement and just keep my proper pace because it definitely make you pay for it later. Recovery went well, I’m feeling healthy, I have no injuries, and I’m now looking forward to some shorter races in June before heading to Kenya for two months to train in Eldoret/Iten, Kenya.

SUMMARY
Race = Tamarack Ottawa Half-Marathon
Distance = 21.1K
Time = 1:19:16
Pace = 3:46/K
Overall Place = 14/9911
Age Group Place (20-24) = 4/192

SOCIAL MEDIA
Facebook photo album of my race = https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151639500058874.1073741837.511403873&type=1&l=b0654797a7
Twitter = @RunnerRob4Life

My friend Brendan Hancock and I representing Canada with a maple leaf hair tattoo for the race!

My friend Brendan Hancock and I representing Canada with a maple leaf hair tattoo for the race!

Brendan and I before the start of the Ottawa Half-Marathon!

Brendan and I before the start of the Ottawa Half-Marathon!

Me with my half-marathon finishers medal. It looks like I even got a little burnt!

Me with my half-marathon finishers medal. It looks like I even got a little burnt!

– Robert Brouillette

//

Comments
  1. […] PAST EVENT RECAP Half-Marathon ~ 2013 […]

Leave a Reply

