Toronto Yonge Street 10K!

Posted: April 21, 2013 in Robert Brouillette

On April 21st 2013, I raced the Toronto Yonge Street 10K road race in 34:02 minutes. For the few days leading up to the race I had been on my feet working at my job a bunch, staying up very late to get my last few projects in for College, and didn’t get a lot of time to focus on training. Then the day before the race I slept in and had to go straight to work for a 8 hour shift and didn’t get home till and in bed till just before midnight. So I wasn’t getting my pre-race runs in, stressed with school, not getting the best sleep, and didn’t eat my usual carb pasta dinner  so I was worrying about how the race would go. When I woke up race morning I was feeling a little hungry so I quickly ate a piece of toast with peanut butter and a small bowl of maple oatmeal. On the drive up I was sipping at my water bottle and was hoping that my headache from a busy and stressful weekend would just go away which it did eventually. My dad came with me and even drove me up to Toronto. With 45 minutes until race start at 9:00AM I headed out on my 20 minute warm up run and then did my stretch routine. With 10 minutes to go till the race started I got myself a spot in the second row of the start line right behind the elite runners. With 20 seconds to go I threw my long sleeve shirt, track pants, and gloves which I will later regret to my dad. I was wearing my Conestoga College singlet, Nike SportWatch, CEP Canada Edition compression socks, and New Balance 1600 shoes. When the race started I sped off and got myself a 3:19 first kilometer which was just a bit slower than I had planned but for 2K I did a 3:15 which was good. For the next 3K leading up to the 5K halfway point I ran a 3:22, 3:15, and then dropped a slow 3:28, but all together I ran about 16:39 through 5K which was even a PB (personal best) inside the 10K race. For 6K and 7K I ran two more slow paces of 3:36 but got back on pace for 8K with a 3:26. Finally I had a strong and fast last kilometer and brought myself into 10K with a 3:11/K and a total time of 34:02 minutes as I passed someone right at the finish line by 3 milliseconds. Throughout the race I very rarely got passed and ended up passing a few people but mostly just holding my spot from the start. I didn’t stop at any of the water stations at 3K and 7K because I was feeling good but wish my pace was more consistent and I used some of that last kilometer energy earlier. So after the race I walked to the event area to get my medal, some cups of Gatorade, Oasis juice and smoothie, PowerBar vanilla protein bar, and did the Subway “Commit To Fit” challenge to win some race sponsor prizes. Then I talked with Olympic marathoner Eric Gillis and Reid Coolsaet about the race, running with New Balance, and my trip this summer to Kenya. Finally before I left I said hello to the fastest women from the race, Rachel Hannah and got an awesome picture with Canada’s faster women marathoner, Lanni Marchant. Overall it was a great race for me and I thank the Canada Running Series and Running Room for making the Toronto Yonge Street 10K happen. This is now my second year at this race and I will most likely be back next year and if not now for sure in the soon future.

SUMMARY
Race = Toronto Yonge Street
Distance = 10K
Time = 34:02
Pace = 3:24/K
Overall Place = 30/5610
Age Group Place (20-24) = 8/185

SOCIAL MEDIA
Facebook photo album of my race = https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151563614733874.1073741831.511403873&type=1&l=caf3139142
YouTube video of my race finish = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6TK1y0oWJZM
Twitter = @RunnerRob4Life

I was a little upset at the finish when I ran a 34:02 when I wanted to break 34 minutes. But in the end I'm happy!

I was a little upset at the finish when I ran a 34:02 when I wanted to break 34 minutes. But in the end I’m happy!

Lanni Marchant, Canada's fastest women marathoner and I!

Lanni Marchant, Canada’s fastest women marathoner and I!

Olympic marathoner, Reid Coolsaet and I chatting after the race!

Reid Coolsaet, Olympic marathoner and I talk after the race!

– Robert Brouillette

//

Comments
  1. […] EVENT RECAP 10K ~ 2014 10K ~ 2013 10K ~ […]

Leave a Reply

